Gathering Deep

Gathering Deep

Please note that this review may contain spoilers for its prequel, Sweet Unrest. You can read my review of this novel [here].

Gathering Deep was written by Lisa Maxwell and first published in 2015. It is a sequel to Sweet Unrest (2014) and picks up two weeks after this novel left off. Although this book follows a different protagonist and so does stand-alone to a degree, I would still advise reading the stories in order if you want to fully appreciate them.

Chloe Sabourin has no memory of her time as Thisbe’s puppet but still struggles to come to terms with what happened. Although she didn’t have any control over herself, she still feels terrible about the part that she played in hurting Lucy and her family. She now knows that her mother was actually a dark witch who had survived centuries by harvesting Alex’s life force. Worse still, Thisbe has survived and put up wards to ensure that Chloe can’t return to her home. It’s clear that she’s still up to something.

When another body is found ritually slain, Chloe realises that her worst fears are justified. Thisbe is making more of the red thread and so must be looking for a new victim. However, her attempts to help stop her are blocked by Piers and Mama Legba. Even though she is free of Thisbe’s control, they still don’t trust her as they’re worried that the witch could take hold of her again.

Their fears are partially justified as Chloe begins to have vivid dreams about Thisbe’s youth, dreams that hark back to a time of rebellion and bloodshed. When Piers vanishes and the ingredients needed to summon a Loa disappear from Mama Legba’s shop, Chloe realises that the answers they need might just lie in her visions. But with the mambo unwilling to help her, Chloe is forced to seek out someone with darker powers to make sense of Thisbe’s past…


Sweet Unrest

Sweet Unrest

This is another unplanned review. It turns out that I picked up an ARC of its sequel on Netgalley the other day so figured that it was probably best to take a little look at this one first!

Sweet Unrest was written by Lisa Maxwell and first published in 2014. It’s a Southern Gothic novel which focuses on a teenage girl discovering the source of her strange dreams. The book forms the first part of the Sweet Unrest series and is followed by Gathering Deep (2015).

Lucy Aimes never wanted to move to New Orleans. She had her life pretty much figured out and her parents’ sudden decision to move south to help excavate an old plantation really squashed her dream to become a professional photographer. Lucy only came with her parents on one condition – if she’s good and helpful they will allow her to move back to Chicago after the Summer holiday.

Yet the plantation has a strange effect on Lucy. She has always had strange dreams about drowning but now they are filled with strange places and people that she seems to know, despite having never met. Central to all these dreams is the handsome socialite Alex and his relationship with Armantine, a photographer’s assistant.

When Lucy meets a Voodoo priestess by the name of Mama Legba, she comes to learn that dreams are just memories of previous lives. It is not long before she starts seeing Alex around the plantation and realises that his lingering presence is a mystery that can only be solved in her dreams. Yet focusing on the past is dangerous. By focusing on Armantine’s life, she could put her own and any future existences in jeopardy.


Blog Stats

  • 79,279 awesome people have visited this blog

© Kim Dyer and Arkham Reviews, 2019. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kim Dyer and Arkham Reviews with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

All novels reviewed on this site are © to their respective authors.