This review is brought to you as part of the Virtual Book Tour for Omega, hosted by Xpresso Book Tours. Please note that this review may contain spoilers for its prequel mini-series, Omega Beginnings. You can read my review of these short stories [here].

Omega was written by popular indie author Lizzy Ford and is due for release at the end of this month. It’s a dystopian fantasy story set in a world when Greek Gods still meddle in the affairs of man. Omega is the first part of a planned trilogy and will be followed by two sequels – Theta (2016) and Alpha (2017). It also has a prequel mini-series which consists of eight short stories, collectively titled Omega Beginnings.

Ever since she was a little girl, Alessandra has been kept hidden from the rest of the world. Sheltered by priests, she has been trained in secret by Herakles to be able to survive any kind of adversary. As her eighteenth birthday looms, she is full of nothing but worry. Her nymph friends are all already preparing to enter employment but Lyssa doesn’t know if she will ever be free.

The decision is made for her when their home is attacked in the night and burned to the ground. Before they too are killed, the priests finally reveal the truth to Lyssa. She is the next Oracle of Delphi and only she has the power to return the world the Old Ways – how it was before the Gods came. Fleeing from her home, Lyssa finds herself in the care of Niko, a mercenary, but quickly comes to realise that he’s not the kind of man that she can trust.

It is not long before she discovered that Herakles has been captured and taken to Washington DC. With no one else left to turn to, Lyssa heads after him in the naïve hope that he can be rescued. However, her upbringing has not prepared her for the real world. What she finds is a land torn by war and a tempestuous political system that hinges on the conflict between the three members of the Triumvirate. In such a world, Lyssa’s safety is not assured and she needs to learn who she can trust quickly if she doesn’t want to meet a fate worse than death…

Omega Banner


Omega Beginnings

Omega Beginnings

This is going to be another very short post but I feel the need to talk about the Omega Beginnings mini-series before my scheduled review of Omega next month.

Omega Beginnings is a series of eight short stories which were published monthly in the lead up to the release of Omega, the first novel in Lizzy Ford’s new young adult series. The title of each short reflects the name of the character that it focuses on – Alessandra, Mismatch, Phoibe, Lantos, Theodocia, Niko, Cleon and Herakles. The shorts are currently available individually on Amazon but an eBook collecting all of them is due for release later this month.

The mini-series takes place twelve years before the events of Omega and is set in a world where the Greek Gods have returned to dominate man. In light of this, Greece has become a major world superpower and humans are ruled by a Triumvirate formed by the Supreme Priest (representing the Gods), the Supreme Magistrate (representing humans) and the Greek Queen (a human born from the Bloodline favoured by the Gods). The Gods largely distance themselves from human affairs but are contactable by the Oracle of Delphi who forms a bridge between the two worlds.

The story centres on Alessandra – a six year old girl who possesses the power to make her toys come to life. When she accidentally awakens a grotesque at the Temple of Artemis, she suddenly finds herself in the middle of a complex web of political intrigue. Alessandra’s parents have kept her hidden for years because they know that she’s the next Oracle and could very well be the one destined to save mankind from the machinations of the Gods…


Blog Stats

  • 79,285 awesome people have visited this blog

© Kim Dyer and Arkham Reviews, 2019. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kim Dyer and Arkham Reviews with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

All novels reviewed on this site are © to their respective authors.