Animorphs 1-5

Animorphs 01-05

Animorphs was a massively successful science fiction series that ran from 1996 to 2001. The main series spanned for fifty-four books, as well as four longer Megamorphs novels, four special “Chronicles” that focused on expanding the universe and two choose-your-own-adventure Alternamorphs books. It also inspired a TV series, a Gameboy game and a line of Transformers toys. For the purpose of this review, I’m going to be looking at the first five novels only: The Invasion (1996), The Visitor (1996), The Encounter (1996), The Message (1996) and The Predator (1996).

One fateful night, Jake, Cassie, Marco, Rachel and Tobias cut through a construction site on their way home. They witness the landing of an alien spacecraft and meet its mortally wounded pilot, an Andalite by the name of Prince Elfangor. Elfangor warns them that their planet is being invaded by Yeerks – parasite aliens capable of taking over the minds of human hosts. In order to help protect the Earth, Elfangor shares his race’s greatest power with the five teens. This is the ability to morph – to become any animal so long as they first touch it to “acquire” its DNA.

Moments later, the Yeerks arrive. Their leader, the terrifying Visser Three, is the only Yeerk to have ever taken an Andalite as a host. The teens witness his morphing power first hand as he transforms into an alien monstrosity and tears Elfangor apart. Barely escaping with their lives, the teens realise that they are now the only ones who can stand up to the Yeerks. It will be at least a year before any more Andalites can come to Earth to save the human race. In the meantime, they must use their morphing power to ensure that humanity is not enslaved.

The first five books introduce each of the Animorphs as they try to save their friends and family from the Yeerks. While they are at first reluctant to put themselves in the line of fire, each of them quickly finds their own reason why they must fight…


Next Newer Entries

Blog Stats

  • 77,516 awesome people have visited this blog

© Kim Dyer and Arkham Reviews, 2019. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Kim Dyer and Arkham Reviews with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

All novels reviewed on this site are © to their respective authors.